I am trying to simulate the pulsed beam injection into the ring in the ELEGANT.
The revolution period is about 13 us. We want to inject a series of bunch trains-consisting of only two bunches spaced by 2us-in an interval of 10ms. In the input file, how can I generate this pulsed beam structure? It looks like once I set the bunch frequency to be 1/(2 us) and step number to be 2, there is no option left to generate the next bunch train after 10ms. Any suggestion would be welcome.
Thanks,
pulsed beam generation
Moderators: cyao, michael_borland
-
- Posts: 1959
- Joined: 19 May 2008, 09:33
- Location: Argonne National Laboratory
- Contact:
Re: pulsed beam generation
Here's a script that can generate an arbitrary bunch pattern. You can use the generateBunch script first (it should be installed already if you have installed elegant).
The script accepts a pattern specification as described here
For example, to generate a 325MHz bunch train as follows
--Michael
The script accepts a pattern specification as described here
Code: Select all
usage: generateBunchTrain -input <bunch> {-patternFile <filename> | -patternString <string>} -rfFrequency <Hz> -output <filename>
The input file should be generated by elegant's bunched_beam command or equivalent; it should contain only one bunch.
The pattern file has two columns: BucketNumber (integer) and RelativeIntensity (a value (0,1]).
The pattern string has the form: <n1>*<s1>*<i1> <n2>*<s2>*<i2> ... where <n1> is the number of
bunches, <s1> is the spacing in rf buckets, and <i1> is the relative intensity, etc.
E.g., 5*1*1.0 5*1*0.0 5*2*1.0 specifies two 5-bunch trains separated by 5 empty buckets;
the first train has single-bucket spacing, while the second has two-bucket spacing.
- 5 bunches separated by 1 bucket with intensity=1.0
- 10 empty buckets
- 5 bunches separated by 1 bucket with intensity=1.0
- 3 empty buckets
- 10 bunches separated by 2 buckets with intensity=3.0
Code: Select all
generateBunch -output bunch.sdds -number 10000 -xplane 60e-9,5.2,0.0,0.0,0.0 -yplane 16e-9,2.4,0,0,0 -zplane 6e3,10e-3,0.12e-2
generateBunchTrain -input bunch.sdds -output train1.sdds -patternString "5*1*1.0 10*1*0 5*1*1.0 3*1*0 10*2*3.0" -rfFrequency 352e6
- Attachments
-
- generateBunchTrain.zip
- (1.42 KiB) Downloaded 291 times
Re: pulsed beam generation
Thanks for the reply.
I first tried to generate the bunch by using the command line you suggested:
generateBunch -output bunch.sdds -number 10000 -xplane 60e-9,5.2,0.0,0.0,0.0 -yplane 16e-9,2.4,0,0,0 -zplane 6e3,10e-3,0.12e-2
But the error message showed up
'generateBunch' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file
I checked the elegant folder and found the generateBunch file in there. I copied and pasted the 'generateBunchTrain' file into the elegant folder and tried
generateBunchTrain -input bunch.sdds -output train1.sdds -patternString "5*1*1.0 10*1*0 5*1*1.0 3*1*0 10*2*3.0" -rfFrequency 352e6
but I had the same error message. So I am a little puzzled why I am having these error messages. This is my first time running the script file. Could you let me know what is going on?
Thanks,
Gunn Tae
I first tried to generate the bunch by using the command line you suggested:
generateBunch -output bunch.sdds -number 10000 -xplane 60e-9,5.2,0.0,0.0,0.0 -yplane 16e-9,2.4,0,0,0 -zplane 6e3,10e-3,0.12e-2
But the error message showed up
'generateBunch' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file
I checked the elegant folder and found the generateBunch file in there. I copied and pasted the 'generateBunchTrain' file into the elegant folder and tried
generateBunchTrain -input bunch.sdds -output train1.sdds -patternString "5*1*1.0 10*1*0 5*1*1.0 3*1*0 10*2*3.0" -rfFrequency 352e6
but I had the same error message. So I am a little puzzled why I am having these error messages. This is my first time running the script file. Could you let me know what is going on?
Thanks,
Gunn Tae
-
- Posts: 1959
- Joined: 19 May 2008, 09:33
- Location: Argonne National Laboratory
- Contact:
Re: pulsed beam generation
Gunn Tae,
What operating system are you using?
--Michael
What operating system are you using?
--Michael
Re: pulsed beam generation
I am using 64-bit Windows system.
-
- Posts: 1959
- Joined: 19 May 2008, 09:33
- Location: Argonne National Laboratory
- Contact:
Re: pulsed beam generation
Are you using cygwin, or a Window's shell?
Probably your search path is not set correctly.
--Michael
Probably your search path is not set correctly.
--Michael
Re: pulsed beam generation
I use Window shell (command prompt). As an experiment, I moved two 'generate..' files to my working folder and tried 'generate..' command. Things still did not work. How do I set the correct search path (probably the first couple of lines in two 'generate...' files)?
Thanks,
Gunn Tae
Thanks,
Gunn Tae