Optimizing the quadrupole strengths

Moderators: cyao, michael_borland

Neeraj

Optimizing the quadrupole strengths

Post by Neeraj » 06 Jun 2018, 11:26

Dear All,

I am very new to elegant, and basically have zero experience with optimization procedures. I fear this question is going to be very basic.

I am trying to find the optimum K1 values for a simple doublet transport for MeV range protons. I am trying to minimize Sx and Sy by optimizing K1 for both the quad. And all the lengths involved are fixed. However, I think there is something fundamentally wrong in what I am doing here, because when I change the p_central_mev value, the optimum K1 values do not vary. In the end, I want to find the K1 combination that produces the smallest spot at 40cm from the second quad. Can any of you tell me what am I doing wrong?

Thanks
Neeraj
Attachments
transport.lte
quadrupole doublet
(391 Bytes) Downloaded 305 times
template.ele
optimization
(1.85 KiB) Downloaded 327 times
-Neeraj

michael_borland

Re: Optimizing the quadrupole strengths

Post by michael_borland » 06 Jun 2018, 19:49

Neeraj,

You shouldn't expect the results to depend on p_central
  • K1 doesn't depend on momentum, since it is a geometric quantity.
  • You've specified the initial *geometric* emittance. If you specified initial normalized emittance, you'd see a difference as p_central is changed.
I modified your .ele file to work better. Look for "!!!" to see the places I've changed.

--Michael
Attachments
transport.ele
(2.03 KiB) Downloaded 379 times

Neeraj

Post by Neeraj » 08 Jun 2018, 03:59

Hi Michael,

Thanks a lot for the quick response. At some point I started to consider K1 to be the gradient. Also thank you very much for the corrections and comments. Helped me a lot to understand the procedure.

-Neeraj
-Neeraj

Neeraj

Post by Neeraj » 11 Jun 2018, 10:14

Michael,