Sextupole magnet for correction of aberration with low energy spread

Moderators: cyao, michael_borland

Seong-Yeol Kim

Sextupole magnet for correction of aberration with low energy spread

Post by Seong-Yeol Kim » 22 Jun 2020, 01:21

Dear Michael,

Hello, I am currently studying the correction of the aberration using the sextupole magnet.
For this study I used dog-leg achromat, and I did the optimization of the chromatic amplitude (Wx and Wy) and second-order dispersion (T166 and T266) using two pairs of the sextupole magnets.

In this case, what I found is that using the sextupole magnet gives me even worse emittance compared to the case without using them, if the beam energy spread is low enough (~0.1 %).
However, when I increased the energy spread to be 1 %, aberration seems to be corrected.

For the comparison, 1) if the energy spread is 0.1 % where the initial emittance is 1.936 mm mrad,
enx without sext: 1.942 mm mrad
enx with sext: 2.048 mm mrad

2) If the energy spread is 1.0%,
enx without sext: 126 mm mrad
enx with sext: 3.46 mm mrad

I am trying to understand why the emittance growth is even worse with the sextupole magnets, if the beam energy spread is low.
I was wondering if it is mainly due to the nonlinearity of the sextupole magnet (is the nonlinearity dominated in this case?).
Either that, I wonder this is due to some problems in the setting of the input script (matrix order, or mis-placed sextupole magnet).

In addition, is there a way to reduce the aberration using the sextupole with low energy spread and with extreme optics, like the maximum beta function along the transfer line is very large (i.e., > 200 m) ?

Please find attached file for the input script (in the case without sextupole magnets, I simply turned them off).
Thank you for your kind help!

Seong-Yeol
Attachments
sext_test.lte
(2 KiB) Downloaded 275 times
sext_test.ele
(2.4 KiB) Downloaded 270 times

michael_borland