Input of the higher order multipoles

Moderators: cyao, michael_borland

Post Reply
wguo
Posts: 41
Joined: 13 Jun 2008, 12:54

Input of the higher order multipoles

Post by wguo » 29 Apr 2009, 13:52

Michael,

To input the higher order multipoles, I use the parameters like systematic_multipoles and random_multipoles for KSEXT and KQUAD. However, I felt inconvenient because I had to manually type this information into the lte file, even though the file names are the same. I can't use the load_parameter command because string is not allowed for ParameterValue.

In practice, magnets are specified in families. It is very likely that the multipole errors are the same for a family of magnets. And the difference among the family is specified as random error. Could you add a feature such that this information can be input in the ele file? Like one multipole file for one magnet family.

It would be a lot easier to input and remove.

Regards,

Weiming

michael_borland
Posts: 1772
Joined: 19 May 2008, 09:33
Location: Argonne National Laboratory
Contact:

Re: Input of the higher order multipoles

Post by michael_borland » 29 Apr 2009, 13:59

Weiming,

You can do this with load_parameters. Just give a file with a string column called ParameterStringValue instead of the usual ParameterValue column.

An even easier way is using alter_elements, e.g.,

&alter_elements name=*, type=KQUAD, item=systematic_multipoles, string_value=<filename> &end

and so on for the other parameters.

--Michael

wguo
Posts: 41
Joined: 13 Jun 2008, 12:54

Re: Input of the higher order multipoles

Post by wguo » 29 Apr 2009, 15:37

Michael,

Thanks a lot! Guess how much time I have saved.

Weiming

Post Reply