Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Moderators: cyao, michael_borland

lewellen
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Dec 2012, 18:14

Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by lewellen » 25 Apr 2013, 17:01

A hopefully simple question - is the precompiled Pelegant for windows 32- or 64-bit?

A related question - does it matter whether I use the 32- or 64-bit mpiexec to launch it?

Thanks much,

- John Lewellen

soliday
Posts: 366
Joined: 28 May 2008, 09:15

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by soliday » 26 Apr 2013, 09:15

It was built on a 64bit computer but the executable is 32bits. I don't think it matters if you use 32bit or 64bit mpiexec but I am not positive. I built it using MPICH2 version 1.4.1 32bit

lewellen
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Dec 2012, 18:14

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by lewellen » 26 Apr 2013, 16:52

Thanks, Bob.

So, that would set a limit of around 19M particles that could be tracked at once?

Thanks much,

- John L.

soliday
Posts: 366
Joined: 28 May 2008, 09:15

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by soliday » 26 Apr 2013, 16:55

Yes, on Windows. I have never attempted a 64 bit build of any SDDS tools on Windows. Mostly because no one ever asked for it.

lewellen
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Dec 2012, 18:14

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by lewellen » 26 Apr 2013, 17:02

Okay ... then, could I make the request for a 64-bit build on elegant and the sdds toolkit tools?

I've been working with a 10M particle distribution for the MaRIE linac simulations. Some of the people here would like to be able to take that to around 320M particles (e.g. one electron per).

That aside, I've been having trouble with some of the sdds toolkit tools running into memory allocation problems when working on the data files, even at 10M particles (eg sddshist), so it would be quite helpful to have those in 64-bit versions.

Thanks much,

- John L.
Last edited by lewellen on 26 Apr 2013, 17:24, edited 1 time in total.

soliday
Posts: 366
Joined: 28 May 2008, 09:15

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by soliday » 26 Apr 2013, 17:19

Okay, I will look into it.

soliday
Posts: 366
Joined: 28 May 2008, 09:15

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by soliday » 08 May 2013, 11:34

I have a 64bit Windows version ready for you to try out. I am not yet putting it up on the main software page because Mike is still doing some regression testing with this version.

To install this you will first need to download the "Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2012 Update 1"
Go to http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download ... x?id=30679
and then download and install vcredist_x64.exe

Next uninstall your existing "SDDS ToolKit", "Elegant" and "MPICH2" packages.

Next download and install:
http://www.aps.anl.gov/asd/oag/download ... it-x64.msi
and
http://www.aps.anl.gov/asd/oag/download ... nt-x64.msi
and
http://www.mpich.org/static/tarballs/1. ... x86-64.msi

lewellen
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Dec 2012, 18:14

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by lewellen » 09 May 2013, 13:28

Bob,

Thanks!

I will give this a shot hopefully today or tomorrow.

Cheers,

- John L.

lewellen
Posts: 18
Joined: 19 Dec 2012, 18:14

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by lewellen » 14 May 2013, 15:39

Hi, Bob,

Sorry for the delay ... I've been out since last Friday.

Anyway, as far as I can tell the 64-bit version of pelegant is running just fine.

In fact, the only things I've had a problem with are sddsplot and sddscontour.

If I just type in "sddsplot <enter>" I get the usual help screen.

If I enter a plot command with an error (e.g. column does not exist) I also get the usual error message:

C:\AOT-HPE\MaRIE\linac design\lattice>sddsplot -col=s,betax MaRIE.sig.last
warning: (s, betax) does not appear in MaRIE.sig.last
1 of 1 datanames absent from file MaRIE.sig.last
warning: no datanames in request found for file MaRIE.sig.last
error: no datasets to plot

If I enter a plot command that should work, however, I get the following:

C:\AOT-HPE\MaRIE\linac design\lattice>sddsplot -col=s,betaxBeam MaRIE.sig.last
'C:\PROGRA~1\APS\SDDS' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

I get the same behavior when using sddscontour.

The installer apparently updated the paths appropriately; the old references to the sdds toolkit and elegant directories were removed, and were replaced with

C:\Program Files\APS\SDDS ToolKit x64\;C:\Program Files\APS\Elegant x64\;C:\Program Files\APS\Elegant x64\MinGW

I get the same error whether I enter just the command or the full path to sddsplot from my working directory, or if I try to run it from the toolkit directory.

Cheers,

- John L.

soliday
Posts: 366
Joined: 28 May 2008, 09:15

Re: Pelegant for Windows - 32 or 64-bit?

Post by soliday » 15 May 2013, 09:16

Can you run regedit and look at the registry value for:
Computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\App Paths\mpl_motif.exe

On my system it is set to:
C:\Program Files\APS\SDDS ToolKit x64\mpl_motif.exe

sddsplot takes this path and converts it into a short path name without spaces. On my system this would be:
C:\PROGRA~1\APS\SDDSTO~1\MPL_MO~1.EXE

On your system the "Program Files" was converted correctly but not the "SDDS ToolKit x64"

I am guessing this is because your system has the 8dot3name setting turned off. Open a command line prompt as administrator, you can do this by right clicking on it, and run "fsutil 8dot3name query c:"

If it does not say that "8dot3 name creation is enabled on c:" then run "fsutil 8dot3name set c: 0"

After this you will probably have to uninstall and reinstall the SDDS ToolKit.

Post Reply