vertical dispersion inconsistencies

Moderators: cyao, michael_borland

Andreas_Doblhammer

vertical dispersion inconsistencies

Post by Andreas_Doblhammer » 27 May 2015, 07:50

Hey everyone,

I hope, I'm writing this in the right category. I'm currently comparing different Accelerator Codes like for example Elegant and MADX.
So far everything looks good, but when I try to set some quadrupole misalignments (vertical offsets), the periodical solution I get from Elegant completely differs from that in MADX.
As I'm completely new to elegant, I'm guessing, I made some mistake there. Maybe Elegant calculates the periodical solution somehow differently than MAD does...

I built a simple example ring, where this difference occurs as well. I'd be happy for every clue^^

Thanks in advance,
Andreas
Attachments
ring.lte
(1.32 KiB) Downloaded 228 times
twiss.ele
(554 Bytes) Downloaded 235 times

michael_borland

Re: vertical dispersion inconsistencies

Post by michael_borland » 27 May 2015, 08:37

Andreas,

I think the problem is that by default the twiss parameters are computed on a single-pass basis, rather than on the closed orbit. If you want to expand about the closed orbit, you need to delay the twiss parameter calculation until after the closed orbit is computed. You can do this by setting output_at_each_step=1 on the &twiss_output command.

Sorry that this is confusing. Let me know if it doesn't clear up the issue.

--Michael

Andreas_Doblhammer

Post by Andreas_Doblhammer » 27 May 2015, 09:06

Dear Michael,

thanks a lot for the fast response. You are right, that solved the problem^^

Best regards,
Andreas

Andreas_Doblhammer

Post by Andreas_Doblhammer » 15 Jun 2015, 06:01

Dear Michael,