Tracking with LRWAKE and ILMATRIX

Moderators: cyao, michael_borland

Siwei_Wang

Tracking with LRWAKE and ILMATRIX

Post by Siwei_Wang » 05 Jan 2022, 10:26

Dear Michael,

I'm studying transverse coupled-bunch instability from long-range resistive-wall wake. In my tracking, I only used ILMATRIX and LRWAKE elements, together with several watch points for each bunch. I calculated the maximum growth rate of each bunch. Then the growth rate is exchanged to 1A.
At first I tracked with only one-particle per bunch, and the result is consistent with the analytic formula, then I increased the number of particles per bunch to 10,000. Then the growth rate of each particle decreases greatly (10 times smaller). But the other parameters are all the same. The exchanged growth rate at 1A is also different when the beam current in tracking is different. Do you have any idea what the reason might be?

Best regards,
Siwei
Attachments
10000particles.zip
Tracking files
(4.4 MiB) Downloaded 175 times

michael_borland

Re: Tracking with LRWAKE and ILMATRIX

Post by michael_borland » 07 Jan 2022, 15:49

Siwei,

Can you supply the file bunchid-offset, used by the sdds_beam command?

Thanks--Michael

Siwei_Wang

Post by Siwei_Wang » 08 Jan 2022, 08:33

Dear Michael,

I wanted to attach the bunch file at first but it was too large and failed to be uploaded.
So I attached the script to generate the bunch. The file makebunch.ele uses bunched_beam to generate the bunch file for a single bunch bunchid-10000.out. And trackSB1.ele uses sdds_beam and duplicate the single bunch and save the multi-bunch file bunchid-offset.out. The final bunch file is nearly 500MB.

Many thanks,
Siwei
Attachments
makebunch.zip
(478.46 KiB) Downloaded 162 times

Siwei_Wang

Post by Siwei_Wang » 13 Jan 2022, 05:01

Dear Michael