Beam ion interaction using IONEFFECTS element

Moderators: cyao, michael_borland

Saroj_Jena

Beam ion interaction using IONEFFECTS element

Post by Saroj_Jena » 08 Nov 2021, 23:11

I am studying beam –ion instability for a ultra-low emittance storage ring and I am using Pelegant recent version (2021.3) for this. I have referred your article “Modeling ion effects for the Argonne Advanced Photon Source upgrade”, PRAB 2019. I tried with example file of APS U. I have few query regarding data extraction from Pelegant , please clarify them.

I did simulation for 100 turns to estimate ion density by inclusion of one IONEFFECTS element and also tried 10 equidistance IONEFFECTS element in the ring. I calculate the ion density by qIons divided by (the length between ion elements* charge of q). When I plot t vs ion density , It gives single plot for 1 IONEFFECTS element and 10 plot for 10 IONEFFECTS element. And when I make “use_bunched_mode = 1”, it gives me large no. of plots. how can I plot the average ion density in a ring vs time or turn.. And also, if IONEFFECTS element are not placed at equidistance, how ion density will be calculated. Please help me with the sddsplot script.

How can I plot ion instability amplitude vs. time or turn from which normally fast beam ion stability growth time can be calculated. In literature, it is the Jy but in elegant ebeam output or watchpoint output, I could get Cy which is centroid of each bunch at each turn. Please help me with the sddsplot script.

In strong-strong interaction, the emittance growth can also be estimated. Can this be observed by plotting vertical emittance by sddsplot -col=Pass,ey -graph=line ion1.wp00. Does it means weak-strong interaction if I set macro_ions = 1 and strong-strong interaction if I set macro_ions = more than 1.

In the .lte file, two watch elements are there which I followed from APS U example file, Does the input for start_pid and end_pid has correlation with number of turn we track.