Focus after plasma problem

Moderators: cyao, michael_borland

Marcello

Focus after plasma problem

Post by Marcello » 28 Jan 2015, 10:17

dear elegant friends,
I'm relatively new to Elegant and I'm simulating a beam after plasma acceleration, it is very divergent and I'm trying to focus it.
The problem is that the emittance in expected to grow spontaneusly (by chromaticity), but using higher order of approximation (2 or 3) ex,ey,enx,eny are constant and using the flag "use_linear_chromatic_matrix = 1;" they go linearly to zero.
I use a beamline like this one:

D14: DRIF, L=0.01
ESPACE: LINE=(100*D14)

On the other hand I obtained this behavior (that I want to reproduce in Elegant) by simulating a free propagation with ASTRA
ASTRA.png
ASTRA.png (6.11 KiB) Viewed 3000 times
I'm sorry but I can't see what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks all
Marcello

michael_borland

Re: Focus after plasma problem

Post by michael_borland » 28 Jan 2015, 10:27

Marcello,

I don't understand why the emittance should grow in a drift in the absence of space charge. Can you explain this? Certainly if you have focusing elements, then you'll get emittance growth if the energy spread is large, due to chromaticity.

Also, you shouldn't use the linear chromatic matrix feature for transport lines; it's intended for rings only. For the type of simulations you are doing, you should use EDRIFT (Exact DRIFT), KQUAD, KSEXT, and CSBEND elements. These will give the most accurate results.

--Michael

Marcello

Post by Marcello » 28 Jan 2015, 12:05

Dear Micheal,
thanks a lot for your fast reply.
I discussed this item with my advisor and I understood that this emittance degradation is really peculiar and really dominant for this kind of electron bunches (at the Plasma Wave exit).
The emittance increasing, in drifts, comes from very strong chromatic effects, which seems to be very well explained in this paper
"JOURNAL OF APPLIED PHYSICS 112, 044902 (2012)".