APS News Archives:

2014 | 2013
2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009
2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005
2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001

APS News Articles 2004

Bio-CAT Research Selected as "Breakthrough" for 2004 (Dec. 21)
Fig. 1. In ice, each water molecule is surrounded by four other molecules in a tetrahedral arrangement (left). This new result on liquid water shows that the molecules are connected only with two others. This implies that most molecules are arranged in strongly hydrogen-bonded rings (middle) or chains (right) embedded in a disordered cluster network connected mainly by weak hydrogen bonds. The oxygen atoms are red and the hydrogen atoms are gray in the water (H2O) molecules. (Figure courtesy H. Ogasawara, SSRL). A study carried out at Bio-CAT (APS sector 18) and the Advanced Light Source (ALS, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) that revealed detailed information about the nearest neighbor coordination geometry in liquid water is prominently featured in one of Science magazine’s Runner-Up Breakthroughs of the Year for 2004.

Australian Consul-General Visits APS (Nov. 23)
Photo of Australian Consulate visiting the APSIt's a short hop from the Australian Consulate in Chicago to the Advanced Photon Source (APS), but a recent visit from the Australian Consul-General and Deputy Consul-General is symbolic of an international collaboration that spans the 9,272 air miles from Sydney to Chicago.

Gabrielle Long Elected AAAS Fellow (Oct. 14)
Photo of Gabrielle LongDr. Gabrielle Long, Associate Director for the ANL Experimental Facilities Division, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). In notifying Long of her election, the AAAS noted, "Each year the Council elects members whose 'efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.'  The honor of being elected a Fellow of AAAS began in 1874 and is acknowledged with a certificate and a rosette.

Mao of HP-CAT Awarded Aminoff Prize in Crystallography (Oct. 11)
David H. Mao showing a panoramic high-pressure diamond-anvil cell to Murray GibsonThe Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has awarded David H. Mao of the Geophysical Laboratory the Gregori Aminoff Prize in Crystallography 2005 "for pioneering research of materials at ultrahigh pressures and temperatures." Dr. Mao is the Director of the High Pressure Collaborative Access Team, which manages the beamlines at Advanced Photon Source (APS) sector 16.

Scott Benes is APS Supervisor of the Year (Oct. 1)
COM-CAT brochureScott Benes (Chief Technician, ASD-Controls) is the first winner of the Advanced Photon Source (APS) Supervisor of the Year award. Benes was surprised with the award during an APS “all-hands” meeting on September 28.


Alexis Templeton wins first APSUO Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award (Apr. 27)
COM-CAT brochureThe Advanced Photon Source (APS) Users Organization is pleased to announce that Dr. Alexis S. Templeton has been chosen to receive the first APS Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award. Dr. Templeton will receive this award, which consists of a plaque plus $1000, on Thursday, May 6 at the closing session of the 2004 APS User Meeting. At that time, Dr. Templeton will also deliver a short talk about her work.

COM-CAT brochureCOM-CAT Request for Proposals Issued (Mar. 29)
A request for proposals (RFP) to operate the Commercial Collaborative Access Team (COM-CAT) beamline at the Advanced Photon Source (APS) has been issued effective March 16, 2004.

IMCA-CAT Management Contract to Be Re-Competed (Mar. 8)
Logos of IMCA-CAT partnersA Request for Proposal (RFP) has been issued for the contract to manage the Industrial Macromolecular Crystallography Association Collaborative Access Team (IMCA-CAT) beamlines at APS sector 17. The RFP is issued by the Industrial Macromolecular Crystallography Association, the group of pharmaceutical companies that comprise the membership of IMCA-CAT.

Solid (green) and void (blue) phases in an unconsolidated sand systemEngineering Undergrads See X-ray Science from the Inside at GSECARS (Mar. 5)
A group of undergraduate students participating in a National Science Foundation (NSF) Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) program, recently performed a series of synchrotron x-ray tomography experiments at the GeoSoilEnviroCARS beamline 13-BM at the APS, in collaboration with Mark Rivers (University of Chicago).

Solid (green) and void (blue) phases in an unconsolidated sand systemAPSUO Announces Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award (Feb. 13)
In conjunction with the Advanced Photon Source (APS), the APS Users Organization (APSUO) has established the APSUO Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award. The nomination deadline for this award is March 15, 2004. The award will be presented at the 2004 Users Meeting for the Advanced Photon Source, held at Argonne on May 3-6, 2004.

The Molecules Behind Tay-Sachs Disease (Jan. 16)
Schematic image of Hex BResearchers using the BioCARS sector 14 beamline at the APS have determined how changes in a pair of proteins lead to the family of neurological disorders that includes Tay-Sachs disease. They solved the three-dimensional structure of one protein essential to Tay-Sachs and modeled the structure of a second key protein based on the first. The results help explain why different mutations lead to different forms of the same class of neurological disorder, and may help in developing treatments against them.
(pdf) (html)

Get Adobe Reader